The Board of Fellows

 The Honourable Dr. Joan King

The Honourable Dr. Joan Marie King

Executive Chair of the Board of Fellows


By our by-laws, Cherub College is governed by a board officially known as The President and Fellows of Cherub College. Through its efforts, the Board performs the essential roles ordinarily associated with a board of trustees, while helping to shape the College's agenda, inquiring into the quality and progress of its activities, and assuring that Cherub College remains true to its mission. The Board of Fellows exercises fiduciary responsibility regarding the College's academic, financial, and physical resources and overall well-being. It consists of the Chair of the Board, the President, the Secretary, and other members known as Fellows. The Board is composed of seven fellows (members) and is currently in the process of elaborating its committee structure, considering reforms adopted by the Board in January 2016. The Board engages with both questions of long-range strategy, policy, and planning as well as transactional matters of unusual consequence. It serves as a confidential sounding board for the President on matters of importance; meets with deans, vice presidents, and others from time-to-time to discuss a wide array of programmes and plans; and is responsible for approving the College's budget, major capital projects, endowment spending, tuition changes, and other matters. Drawing on the wide-ranging experience and expertise of its members, the Board exerts a broad influence over the College's strategic directions, provides counsel to the College leadership on priorities and plans, and has the power of consent and veto to all major actions of the President and his Administration.